Picture
While strolling down Stony Plain Road the other day for the Store Front Cinema fest, My friend John and I came across a booth where we could make "throwies". What is this item with the awesome name? A throwie is simply a mini LED light, a watch battery, and a magnet all taped together. What do you do with it? Well as the name implies, you throw it! The people at the festival wanted us to throw the throwies at a large metal sign set of specifically for the occasion, I however thought that was lame. So my friend and I chucked all our throwies as high as we could get them on a lamp post. Now if your ever walking down Stony Plain Rd and notice a lamp post covered with red and green LEDs, you'll know who's been there. 
So I looked into throwies and discovered that the Graffiti Research Lab guys are the masters and possibly the inventors as well. The GRL group of people around the world dedicated to altering their surrounding through public art. Pretty neat idea if you ask me!

If you want to check out more on the Graffiti Research lab you can check out: http://graffitiresearchlab.com/

And for more on purchasing supplies needed to make throwies go to: http://www.goldmine-elec.com/






Leave a Reply.